La Vita e Bella

Just finished watching this movie, directed by Roberto Benigni.

(just finished last week-ish….it’s been a busy month) :0

The main storytelling character died.

He actually died.

You know, in a movie, sometimes there’s that scene where the main character should have died, and in the end, he comes out because he got away.

Well.

So there was this one scene where the dad/storyteller/protagonist tries to go save his wife from being gassed in a concentration camp, and he gets caught by a guard, who’s about to shoot him on the spot, then another guard comes and tells him to go somewhere else, and you think he’s getting away, but then, the guards switch places and the main character is led away behind a building, machine guns fire, and only the guard comes back.

So I was waiting and waiting until the end of the movie for the protagonist to re-appear out of nowhere.

And I’m still waiting.

It was really a great movie. Poignant, and not cliche, touching, and not sappy.  Gentle, but not too slow.

This movie was recommended to me by my one of my friends, who is also a serious movie buff. (I think it’s a trend. Movie buffs have easy-going personalities, and are good conversationalists.  Hence, I prefer to spend free time with these people.  Therefore, two things. I am also easy-going (maybe sometimes) and a good conversationalist (thank you, it’s an art).  Secondly, I would say I am a movie buff too, but we all know that that isn’t true.  I can’t even say I’m a book buff, because I have niche preferences in what I read.

Anyway, the answer to the question, “did you watch___” is inevitably no.

So I’m collecting another list of movies that I need to see before next year.  This list includes Inglorious Bastards, the Batman series directed by Christopher Nolan, La La Land, Moonlight, and The Tiger and the Snow.

Now, I have a few questions.  If you watched a movie every day, wouldn’t you get confused eventually, with certain scenes and certain characters that are playing similar roles? I mean, I even sometimes get confused between characters in novels.

I also don’t know how your eyes can hold up to watching a movie every day.

Furthermore, I’m not gonna lie, I prefer active interaction with real people—like, if I have free time, I would rather play sports outside with other people, or go hiking. or play a board game or card game, or cook something. Watching movie on computer by myself is great once in awhile, but not three times a week.

Leave a Reply

